top of page
  • Writer's pictureMykah Mindingall

A9- Happy Finals: And May the Curve Be Ever in Your Favor

When first assigned with the Facebook Live assignment, I was actually quite clueless on what I was going to do it on. I was stressed with finals week close, and I had no clue what events were going on that I was actually interested in covering. While walking through our schools' library, I saw how stressed students looked, and you might as well have inserted a light bulb above my head.


If you are familiar with the popular Nickelodeon show, "Ned's Declassified School Survival Guide", then that's the vision I was going for. I wanted tips and tricks from actual students. If I had to do this theme again, but in a planned video, it would be more creative with skits and such, but since this was an unplanned live video and I went with the flow, I think it went pretty well. I went up to random students, to the technology desk, and to starbucks, all while showing off our beautifully renovated library. I wanted students to share how they study and what works for them. I wanted to include the technology desk because a lot of students don't know that you can rent a computer for free for 5 hours with just your student ID, and it's right in the library. I also wanted to ask Starbucks what is the most sought after drinks, since placed in every study table in the library was a starbucks cup. Now of course I was nervous how the video would turn out. I walked around the library and asked consent from students first and then went back to start my live. Me asking for consent gave students time to figure out their answer, so it wasn't a total "UHHHHH" moment. .


I definetly loved doing this, and I plan on doing it again next spring, just to see if the answers change, and if I can perfect the craft of going live. I've gone on Instagram Live before, but it's different when you're doing it for fun and showing a party or concert; compared to when you're promoting or broadcasting for professional reasons. I think if I practice more on my personal page, and gain experience that way, then direct my larger following from my personal page to my business page, I'll see a BIG difference. Overall, I think I had fun. This semester I realized I enjoy broadcasting and reporting more than photo journalism. I enjoy being in the field, talking to people, and thinking quick on my feet. Throughout this project, a lot of people seemed to back off with what they were saying, but to keep time going and stop them from hiding I asked questions to pull out more of an answer.


I'm super thankful for this class, pushing me out of my comfort zone and making me experience new things that I otherwise may have not been exposed to. I now have a newfound love for journalism and broadcasting. I also learned how to utilize my phone is a myriad of ways. I also developed a love for podcasting and video logging, that I plan to get serious about in the near future!


Thanks for traveling with me on this semester long journey. Plan on me continuing next semester with more! Your dark knight in holographic armour, signing out!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page