top of page
  • Writer's pictureMykah Mindingall

How'd You Manage That? (The Podcast Project)

Updated: Nov 26, 2019

The art of podcasting has received a huge uprising in the past couple years, with many people creating their own shows. The days of only listening to radio is over. With mini series popping up to talk about different topics, there's no need to wait for a certain timeframe on the radio, when you can download and stream whenever you want.


This class assignment ranked as my number one favorite for the semester. I love communicating with people, asking questions, and finding new ways to view topics. Getting the chance to go out into the community, and talk to people about current topics encouraged me to actually create a mini series podcast. The people I found range in year, from freshman, all the way to 5th year senior, with opposing genders, majors, and relationship status. I think diversity is important when finding a panel, and people to talk to. When you find someone with similar viewpoints in everything, it becomes more of an agreeable talk, than finding new perspective. This was not the case when I brought my panel together for this project. I think the overall flow I received from the two boys and girls was immediate connection. Not everyone was friends, or familiar with each other, but the talks were effortless and easy. Since this was everyone‘s (except me) first time doing a podcast, there was nervous energy from people who typically lead discussions and talks, but If I decide to keep the podcast going, I’m sure it’ll become natural to just fall into step.

I wanted a topic that was relevant to the student body, but not heavy. There is a lot of bad going on in the world, and a lot of awareness I wanted to bring forth, but I would rather talk about those on a continual basis, rather than begin my first podcast with. I am passionate about world change, saving the planet, women’s rights, domestic violence, and mental health. I always want to encourage and uplift in everything I do, but I also feel first impressions are the most memorable. I wanted to start my show on more of a “get-to-know-us” and our mindsets vibe. I decided that relationships and time management was something often talked about on campus. The colder weather seems to push in the cuddle mentality of students, and the impending finals and winter break also makes students question whether they want someone to spend it with. I wanted to question seniors, who have internships, athletes who still have practice, and freshman who are still adjusting to get a good initial thought process on the topic. I also wanted to start with a easier topic to see how my panel would react, and if they would be able to handle the harder to talk about topics.


In the aftermath, cutting my show down to 15 minutes was the hardest. I had to pick and choose which parts I wanted to keep, to find the timeframe given to me. I couldn’t complain, because in the professional world, time management is all the more relevant, and your job will give you tasks and you have to be able to meet those requirements. Which is all the the more I want my own show, to meet my own requirements and timing. I also love the editing process. In class, just seeing everyone work so hard to edit their podcasts, and focus solely on perfecting their ability to edit, really made me excited. I love listening, tweaking, adding in effects, and music. I think the editing process is an art form in itself. You have to be really patient, driven, and determined when editing. Especially if it’s super long. Overall, my experience was humbling and appreciative of people who do this everyday. It’s not simple, it is a lot of work. Which is all the motivation I need to perfect it on my own. Finding channels to bring awareness and get your words across is amazing, and I thank my teacher for pushing me forward into a new craft.

Check out the soundcloud link on my home page to listen! Or follow the link below. Hope you enjoy my first mini show! Don’t worry, I plan to get better, and the first show is always the amateur one, but you have to start somewhere!


https://soundcloud.com/aseatatrockys/a-seat-at-rockys-final-cut-11-26-19-526-pm

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page